smile :) and bow

Smile and bow. That’s pretty much all I did today. I spent the day meeting the principles and teachers from the schools that I will be teaching at. Since the principles and teachers know very little English my IC Sue was there to translate. By this point I have gotten used to standing in the middle of a conversation about me, but I don’t have a clue of what is being said. Today was slightly uncomfortable for a number of reasons. The first was the principle would be talking to me but I had to look at Sue to figure what was he was saying. Second, there seemed to be much more talking than translating. I don’t think Japanese requires that much more language to convey an idea, and felt as though I was really missing something. So I threw out the 2  Japanese phrases I know, smiled like a fool, and bowed more than necessary.

2 thoughts on “smile :) and bow

  1. I can imagine this scene all to well. I’ll bet it’s hard, but you’ll feel more comfortable soon – it is not just a language change, but a cultural one too. I’ve truly been enjoying your posts, especially the elevator one!

Leave a Reply

