Happy Turkey(less) Day!!!

 

This may not have been my first thanksgiving away from my family, but it was my first thanksgiving away from  thanksgiving. Not only do they not celebrate thanksgiving in Japan, there aren’t really even turkeys. Annnnd most people don’t even know what it is, halloween is a more popular holiday. This was also my first twinge of homesickness. While at work I thought about how much I would love spending the day on a huge couch smelling turkey in the oven and then eating myself into a comatose state. Instead my other american friends and I went to McDonald’s and got a chicken sandwich meal. poultry and potatoes in a meal- its pretty much the same, right?

Although I was a bit homesick, I have so many things to be thankful for. I am thankful for this incredible opportunity to experience and live in another country. I am thankful that my parents and dog are happy and still in good health. I am thankful for all the people that have supported me through the preparation and during this great adventure. I am also thankful for the friends that I have made here. They have saved me and made me feel at home. Although this was a turkey-less day of thanks I still have plenty of appreciation.

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Turkey(less) Day!!!

  1. I know what you mean about the homesickness today. I had a bit better than you, as I was able to buy a turkey, and my mom so kindly shipped over pumpkin pie filling, and Stove Top stuffing so I could make my own Thanksgiving, explaining the concept of the holiday to people was hard.

    Yes, it’s about eating all day, but it’s also about the Thanksgiving Day Parade, and football all day, and seeing all your family that you never see any other time of year. Everyone’s happy, and in a good mood, and it’s an all day event. I was homesick celebrating it last weekend, and am even more so today.

    But yes, even without all the trimmings, it’s still a good reminder to think about how much we have in our lives to be thankful for, no matter where we are =)

    xx

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Ellie! Your blog is fantastic and so fun to follow your adventures! I know few young ladies with such grace, humor, great view of life, willingness to embark on adventure, positive… thanks for keeping us entertained!

  3. We love you and miss you, and wish you were here with us to celebrate Thanksgiving. Christmas plans sound great, keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

