so i almost lost my eye….

 

my wednesday morning appearance.

I just want to start out by saying that I am ok. this week has been a ferris wheel, going down for a while and now its  back up again. On tuesday my eyes were especially dry when I took out my contacts, and hurt pretty bad that night. When I woke up on Wednesday morning I couldn’t open my left eye because of the searing pain and it was swollen shut. Needless to say I called in sick from work on account of looking like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. (if i had gone to work, my appearance would have made a few kids cry).

When I called work I told them that I needed help getting to a doctor, so they sent a lovely lady to take me. She drove me to the eye doctor and translated for me. I got checked out and the Dr. told me that when I took my contacts out I ripped off the top layer of skin on my eye. – yeah it hurt as bad as it sounds. ……….but i would be ok in a couple days and they would give me drops to take care of the pain and make sure my eye doesn’t get infected. -sigh of relief after 30 seconds of panic-

Although the drops made a HUGE difference the rest of my day was pretty miserable. I couldn’t look at my computer screen so watching movies was out of the question, and closing my eyes hurt pretty bad too so that took away sleep as a possibility. -insert pitty party-  I spent the rest of the day knitting and listening to music.

Good new tho: this morning when i woke up my eye was practically as good as new! I’m ok, and tomorrow it will probably be even better! As much as the day sucked, i learned that the eye doctors in Japan are pretty awesome, and so is my health insurance, I only paid $20 for my dr visit and 2 sets of eye drops. annnnnd i’m never sleeping in my contacts, ever again.

here’s to being healthy! and living in a country with good healthcare.

One thought on “so i almost lost my eye….

Leave a Reply

