tokyo all to myself

En route to Yokohama last weekend I had a couple hours to kill in Tokyo, thanks to the overnight bus I got into Shinjuku Station at the early hour of 7am. I was expecting to encounter hoards of commuters and insane crowds bustling through the city. HOwever it was quite different. I forgot Thursday was a holiday, (appreciating culture day or something) so the usual commuters were at home. The streets were empty. For a city of  13.2 million it was really strange to have the streets to myself. Scenes from several post apocalyptic movies started running through my head. After a couple minutes of being WIll Smith circa I am Legond, I turned a corner and came face to face with a street full of commuter traffic.

One thought on “tokyo all to myself

Leave a Reply

