semiautomatic doors

I’m automatic door challenged. Strange, but possible. The automatic doors in Japan open just a little bit slower than what I’m used to. Instead of maintaining the same walking speed I have to slow down just a bit so the doors can open. Since it is such a subtle difference I have difficulty remembering to slow down. Because of this I have walked into sliding doors on more than one occasion. Then there’s the semi-automatic doors. They open, you just have to push a button or touch a certain spot. These are where things get really dicey. First I have to recognize that the door requires effort to open. Then I have to figure out the magic spot. This is harder than you would think. I once spent several minutes frantically hitting the door to Yoshinoya while the lunch eaters looked at me like the crazy person that I was. Japan, I love you but your automatic doors make me feel stupid.

One thought on “semiautomatic doors

Leave a Reply

