What’s been goin’ on. Pt 1. the End of Japan

Its been a while since I’ve posted anything on here. I didn’t forget about this little corner of the internet; things have just been really crazy in the last 8 1/2 weeks. The craziness started with the Team Diekman tour of Japan. My parents came out to the land of the rising sun to see how life is done on the other side of the world.

 Its safe to say that they had a great time. My friends in Kagawa were so kind to them, having parties and giving them gifts. I think they’re more popular in Japan than I was. After touring around Shikoku Island for a week we went to the tourist cities on South Honshu Island.

We went to Hiroshima, and had a parent date with my friend Hannah and her parents. They pretty much became instant best friends and probably had more fun with each other than their own children.

team Diekman + team Warren = magic

We went onward to Kyoto and Nara and I was a slave driver of a tour guide. At one point my Dad was begging to stop for the day. What can I say there’s a lot of ground to cover in Kyoto.

they were just as into the birdlife of japan as the historical monuments

“please ellie, I can’t see any more temples. I need a beer, or food, or both. Please”

Saying goodbye wasn’t easy. Never really is, especially when I don’t know the next time we’ll be able to hang out together. There are tentative plans for an upcoming Euro trip for team Diekman.

After parting ways with the older portion of team Diekman, I went back to K-town to take care of unfinished business before saying goodbye to Nihon. After moving 6 times in the last 4 years you would think I had a system or something. Not at all. I was running around like Mike the Headless Chicken trying to get things finished at the last minute. I was too busy to have the reality of leaving really settle in. I said unreal goodbyes to my friends and Japan at the butt crack of dawn on a drizzly day.

i think the people at the kanonji post office cried when they saw me enter with so many boxes

(the reality of leaving Japan and my friends hit me when I was in Thailand and had a solo crying fit in the middle of Kaoh San Rd. Not really a high point for me but more on that later.)

One thought on “What’s been goin’ on. Pt 1. the End of Japan

  1. Glad to see you back on and can’t wait to here of your new adventures. Wonder how many of your readers know Mike the Headless Chicken! Keep up the writing and traveling.

Leave a Reply

