Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Although it isn’t celebrated out here in the Lowland, Happy Day of Thanks and Turkey. After last year’s turkey success, I’ve gotten a little over confident and volunteered to make Thanksgiving dinner for my host family. This could get interesting. I have a feeling it will turn out similarly to the Griswald’s turkey.

This isn’t my first turkey day spend away from home, in fact I’ve only been home for 2 in the last 8 years. That still doesn’t make me miss home any less though. I still think my Mom is the best cook I know. I have so many things to be thankful for this year. 1-the health and well-being of my parents. I may live far away but you are still my everything. 2- skype. without it I don’t think I would be able to live outside America for so long  3- My wonderful host family. I really hit the jack-pot with my au-pair situation, and I certainly don’t take that for granted. 4- my health. Sure I’ve gotten more colds this year than normal, but if that’s my biggest problem, things are pretty great. 5- My friends- you know who you are. I’ve collected them all over the world. Unfortunately I don’t get to talk / see you as much as I’d like but I’m pretty darn lucky to have friends as cool/great as you.  6- Ikea. 1 euro breakfast, free coffee, candles pictures, cheap shopping delights, kiddie day care. Did I mention the free coffee?

I’ll let you know how it all goes down. Hopefully it will be an update and not a accident report.

Leave a Reply

