Christkindlmarkt

christmas market 2One of the reasons we braved the winter cold and snow in Berlin was the chance to visit the Christmas Markets. I’ve been to a couple in Japan, or what Japan thought that a German Christmas market should be. But I decided I needed to see the real thing.  What isn’t there to like? Bratwurst, Gluhwein (hot spiced red wine), handmade gifts, and more than enough Christmas spirit to go around. Its pure magic.

christmas market 4 christmas market 3 I love Christmas time and probably have a disproportionate amount of enthusiasm for this holiday.  I ate close to my weight in sausages, and a few gallons of the gluhwein while taking in the magic.

christmas market 1We went to four different markets in the weekend that we were in town and each had its own theme and beautiful decorations. I couldn’t think of a better way to kick off the Christmas season.

christmas market 5

Leave a Reply

