Home Sweet Colorado

481360_915997107649_1633152778_nLast month I had the luck to spend the holidays in Colorado with my family. I was home for 2 weeks to see family, friends, and friends that seem more like family. To make matters even better we had a white Christmas, well white week would be more appropriate. In the time that I was home it snowed close to a foot. While this would seem absolutely magical there are a couple drawbacks to snow. First of all: driving in the snow. It sucks, its scary stressful, and downright dangerous. I’m that old lady driver white knuckling the whole 9 mile drive into town. If I choose to stay home during snow storms that means I’m the one to shovel the driveway. Our driveway isn’t small, and snow can be pretty heavy when there’s a few inches of the stuff. Even with the back injuries shoveling is also nice to get our of the house after hours of watching holiday specials.

IMGP7450 IMGP7457

 Back to the trip home. On my first weekend my family and I took a trip down to the beautiful town of Ouray. We spent the weekend snowshoeing on the lovely Red Mountain Pass, soaking in the outdoor hot springs, and eating ourselves silly. We visited one of my all time favorite restaurants, The Adobe. If you’ve spent even a small amount of time with me while abroad you’ve heard me talk about the Mexican food shaped hole in my life. The Adobe is just the place to fill that void.

The Adobe in all its magic

The Adobe in all its magic

Golly I have good looking parents.

Golly I have good looking parents.

The next three days after the trip were filled with friendly family time. I don’t have any extended family that lives nearby so we’ve adopted a few families to come together for the holidays. For the 9th year in a row, I’ve celebrated the Eve of Christmas Eve tradition with some lovely friends. We have been getting together on that night since high school and it was wonderful to meet up with everyone and still connect even with all the changes that we’ve seen in our lives in the last (near) decade of our lives. As we had a rather somber Christmas it was fantastic to have friends over for company and share the holiday.

Mt Sneffels

Ouray

One of the best parts about being home was being able to pick up from where I left off with most of my friends, even though it had been years since we had seen each other last. As my life has had a high frequency of change, coming back to something familiar was soothing for my soul. Many of these friendships are over a decade old, and in some cases it had been 3 years since we had been together. Although it had been a while, we fell into conversation easily and felt as though very little time had past. I am pretty dang lucky to have the friends that I do. WIth each conversation I was blown away by the great people in my life. At the end of all these dates I felt inspired to do better or do more or just explore and love.

IMGP7534Leaving all this home love was pretty hard, however I was returning to my amazing host family. The reception that I had from them really softened the blow of leaving home, family, friends, and my dog. There’s no set plans of when I’ll be in America next, however there is a Team Diekman Euro tour currently in the works for Spring 2013.

Leave a Reply

